Raw foods report

After hearing about the health benefits of raw foods, I began an unscientific program of juicing raw fruits and vegetables in my Vita-Mix monster blender, liquified by the addition of fruit juice or water.

After drinking about a pint a day for less than a week, I began to notice a difference. I have had a lessening of pain in my back and right foot and leg tendons, to a very noticeable degree. It has also helped specific joints that have been painful, such as the big joint at the base of the thumb (notorious for arthritis).

I have noticed several other effects I would not have predicted. Some foods taste differently to me now. Specifically, some foods taste “wrong”, as if there is some chemical or other presence in them. I take this to be a recovery of some sensitivity that had been masked by other sensations.

I also have a tough case of gout, but now I also seem to be able to eat more meat without reacting to it – possibly as much as 12 ounces a week, in three or four meals. This is twice what I was able to eat previously. I need to test this further, but it seems to be the case.

But the most profound change is my mood. Whatever this mixture provides is a mood stabilizer more effective than any drug I have taken. It is equal to a big dose of Zoloft, but without any side effects of dullness or inability to focus – just the opposite; I am able to focus better than ever, due to the lack of the brain-lacerating psychological pain than has pursued me for 60 years.

I would still like to “juice-fast” this recipe to see what happens.

The recipe is, roughly,

  • 2 large carrots
  • Two red bell peppers
  • 2 medium celery stalks
  • 2-6 ripe Roma tomatoes
  • 2-4 cups chopped kale
  • 2 cups mixed frozen fruit (strawberries, mangoes, peaches, pineapple, grapes – Safeway mixed fruit)
  • 1 fresh orange, peeled, w/out white pulp
  • 1 whole fresh apple

The only peeling or prep for this is removing the orange peel and white inner pulp. I make about a half gallon at once, but this lasts two to four days. It does oxidize and would be better if I made it everyday but I am not up to a daily prep of all this. Currently I make two batches and freeze all the ingredients for one and blend the other.

I run it though the Vita-Mix for at least 3 minutes to break down all the cell walls (freezing helps) to get at the goodies stored inside them. The Vita-Mix people stress that long blending times, with the power of the Vita-Mix, are needed to get the virtues of this nutrition, and after following this guidance I suspect that they are right.

Updates

I now have a food processor, which is a big help. I chop each item (except carrots) until semi-liquid, then combine with grated carrots. This helps out the Vita-Mix a lot, and it is easier to pack into freezer containers. The Vita-Mix is $500 to replace; the food processor $100, so I spare it when I can.

I went on a semi-permanent juice fast in mid-December 2014. After some experimenting, I eventually eliminated all the fruit from the drink and still got the same benefit. I have upped the percentage of kale in the mix, so if (as I suspect) the kale is responsible for a good deal of the benefit, that would account for it.

About Mike MacLeod

At large
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

